Museums & Galleries National Awards (MAGNA) 2011 - Call for Entries open 1 June


About the Awards

Museums Australia is pleased to introduce an all new National Award for institutions.  The Museums & Galleries National Awards, or MAGNAs, will begin in 2011 with three categories (see below).  The MAGNAs recognise excellent work nationally in the categories of exhibition, public programs and sustainability projects.

The MAGNAs will be open to all Australian and New Zealand cultural collecting institutions, member and non-member.  Institutions will be split into three levels, depending on the number of paid staff, similar to MAPDA.

The MAGNAs will be awarded at the MA National Conference (this year in Perth).  MA also proposes that winning entrants take part in a Masterclass in Canberra in the following May to share their knowledge and expertise with the sector.

The Awards are intended to:

  • Encourage the continuous improvement and development of Australian museums and galleries
  • Inspire and recognise best practice and innovation in the collecting sector
  • Enhance the profile of museums and galleries in local and wider communities.



A physical or virtual interpreted presentation of materials owned or borrowed by the institutionSustainability

Public Programs

Community development and education projects that promote the institution's vision and collection.


Any project that promotes sustainable practices. Including, but not confined to: architecture, collection management, administration, technology and media, energy consumption, adaptive reuse projects, etc

Entry Criteria

MAGNA 2011 is open to all projects that were realised in 2010.

Please submit your entry in a report format, maximum of ten (10) pages, considering any of the following*:

  • A written description of your project
  • Project achievements
  • What was the rationale behind the project? What issues are being considered?
  • How is the project innovative or original?
  • How is the significance of the objects conveyed?
  • How does the project utilise sustainable best practice to ensure conservation of objects and the broader environment?
  • How was the project received by the public?
  • How does the design of the project emphasise its meaning?
  • How does the project contribute to local or national cultural tourism, education or development?
  • Supporting documentary materials, including reports, visitor comments, media, exhibition books, education materials, etc (not counted in page limit)
  • Supporting graphic materials, including photos, plans, web pages, etc (not counted in page limit)
  • Any other information to support your entry

* We understand that not all project entries will address all example criteria equally.

Conditions of Entry

  1. The MAGNA Awards are open to all non-commercial museums, galleries, zoos, botanical gardens, historical societies, libraries, keeping places, science centres and other cultural and collecting institutions.
  2. Commercial galleries, auction houses and publishing interests are not eligible.
  3. Both members and non-members of Museums Australia are eligible to enter the MAGNA Awards.
  4. The Awards are open to International entrants.
  5. Entries must come from organisations, associations or not-for-profit companies.
  6. Entries by individuals are not eligible.
  7. Entrants may submit multiple entries in any categories, but these can only be entered in one category.
  8. An impartial judging panel drawn from relevant sectors, and including a member of the museum-going public, will judge the entries.
  9. The judging panel reserves the right not to make an award in a category if it considered no award is merited; or to make a joint award in a category.
  10. Entries will not be returned.
  11. The winner of each entry will receive an award and certificate, and acknowledgement on the MA website.  Entries of high distinction will be recognised as Highly Commended.
  12. All entries will be credited as indicated on the entry form.  Ensure the details on the entry form are correct and legible.
  13. By submitting an entry, the entrant grants permission to Museums Australia for the reproduction  of winning entries for purposes of publicity and promotion at no charge; entrants must warrant they have the right to allow such use by Museums Australia.

How to Submit Your Entry

See the Entry Checklist on the Registration and Payment Form for more information on required formats of entries.  All entries must be accompanied by an Entry Form.

 MAGNA 2011
 Museums Australia National Office
 PO Box 266



Call for entries open on 1 June 2011
Call for entries close on 30 June 2011
Judging will take place in August and awards will be announced at the Museums Australia National Conference in November in Perth.


MAGNA proudly acknowledges the generous support of the following sponsors:


Museums Australia welcomes any expressions of interest for sponsors for the MAGNAs in 2011 and into the future.  If you would like more information on sponsorship levels and benefits, please contact the MA National Office on 02 6273 2437 or

Views: 45

Reply to This

© 2019   Created by maHub.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service